Hawke's Bay Cricket Camp

Hawke's Bay Cricket Camps 

Since 2013 the Hutt District Junior club has sent the Year 7 Development team to take part in this fantastic concept to develop our young cricketers - the experience they remember for life. 

In 2017, the junior club for the first time had four teams taking part in the Year 5, Year 6, Year 7 and Year 8 grades.   

This year our Junior Club will be looking to have a team playing in each grade Year 5 to Year 8.  

The Year 6, Year 7 and Year 8 teams are selected as part of the club development program and take part in the 'A' division games. 

The club will also support any keen parents or coaches to take away a side to play in the Year 5 grade and in the Year 6b to 8b division matches. 

Please keep an eye out on your email box during November to have the opportunity to register your child to play cricket at the Hawke's Bay Cricket Camp.

Hawke's Bay Cricket Camp History

The Hawke's Bay Cricket Camps were established in 1979 and organised by Ray Mettrick.  Ray ended his 22 years in charge in 2001 and since then they have been organised by Hawke's Bay Cricket Association.

They have been a very successful breeding ground for a number of first class and New Zealand cricketers with Ross Taylor, Jamie How, Jeetan Patel, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Mike Mason, Ben Stokes (England), Scott Styris, Kane Williamson, Doug Bracewell, Trent Boult, Sara McGlashan and Sophie Devine to name a few.