Hawkes Bay Camps

Hawke's Bay Cricket Camps

Since 2013 the Hutt District Junior club has sent the Year 7 Rep team to take part in this fantastic concept to develop our young cricketers and take part in an experience they remember for life.

In 2018 the junior club for the first time had 4 junior club teams taking part in the Year 5, Year 6, Year 7 and Year 8 grades.

This year Hutt District will be looking to have a team playing in each grade Year 5 to Year 8. The Year 5 & Year 6 teams, the club will support and help organise keen parents/coaches to take away a side to play. The Year 7 & Year 8 teams are selected as part of the club rep development program and managed by the Rep Coach.

The Hawke's Bay Cricket Camps were established in 1979 and organised by Ray Mettrick. Ray ended his 22 years in charge in 2001 and since then they have been organised by Hawke's Bay Cricket Association.

They have been a very successful breeding ground for a number of first class and New Zealand cricketers with Ross Taylor, Jamie How, Jeetan Patel, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Mike Mason, Ben Stokes (England), Scott Styris, Kane Williamson, Doug Bracewell, Trent Boult, Sara McGlashan and Sophie Devine to name a few.

Hawke’s Bay Cricket Camps key dates for January 2020

Year 8a: Wednesday 8th to Saturday 11th January 2020 (teams stay at Napier Boys’ High School Hostel)

Year 5: Thursday 9th to Saturday 11th January 2020 (teams stay at Riverbend)

Year 7a: Sunday 12th to Wednesday 15th January 2020 (teams stay at Riverbend)

Year 6a: Sunday 19th to Wednesday 22nd January 2020 (teams stay at Riverbend)